By Country

Melodifestivalen 2013 Awards – Did your favorites win?

Melodifestivalen On-Line Poll Winners of 2013 (Photograph Courtesy of SVT)

Melodifestivalen On-Line Poll Winners of 2013 (Photograph Courtesy of SVT)

SVT presented their on-line Melodifestivalen 2013 awards. The winners were chosen by the public after the contest was completed and the range of categories were wide and varied. This ensured there was almost something for everyone in the Grand Final

The Winners were as follows

  • Song of the Year: “You”

(YouTube Video Courtesy of Eurovision)

  • Artist of the Year: YOHIO.
  • Lyrics of the year: “Only the Dead Fish Follow the Stream”.
  • This year’s line of text: “Hissa din fi fana / Go Copaca banana”. Seemingly this means “Raise Your Flag”

(YouTube Video Courtesy of Erik Petersen)

  • Best performance during competition phases: Robin Stjernberg in the finals.
  • Singer of the year: Robin Stjernberg
  • Profile of the year: Gina Dirawi.
  • Breakthrough of the Year: YOHIO.
  • Songwriter of the year: Thomas G:son.
  • Costume of the year: YOHIO.

(YouTube Video Courtesy of VikkiBoii)

  • Accessory of the year: Sean’s wings.
  • Elements of the year: Sean Banan and his closet.
  • Performance of the year: Sean Banan – “Copacabanana”.
  • Choreography of the year: Anton Ewald – “Begging” by Anton Ewald and Jennie Widegren.
  • Dance Motion of the year: Anton Ewald.

(YouTube Video Courtesy of MrEurovision)

  • Special effect of the year: Ulrik Munther’s screen.
  • Band of the year: State of Drama.
  • Duo of the year: Gina Dirawi and Danny Saucedo.
  • Interval act of the year: Loreen – “Euphoria”.
  • Opening of the year: Danny and Gina – “Euphoria”.

(YouTube Video Courtesy of Tulaydn)

  • Dancer of the year: Daniel Koivunen.
  • Best grown song from the first audition: “You”.
  • Best news of the year: battles were eliminated in the first round of Andra Chansen.
  • Picture of the year: Robin Stjernberg with pyrotechny.
  • Gaffe of the year: 5.4 million Swedes missed the final.
  • Honorary Award of the year: Christer Björkman.

(YouTube Video Courtesy of QXForLag)

There will be people who do not rate Melodifestivalen – that is fine – but not many other countries can boast consistently being one of the most watched National Finals across Europe. Also to note is that many performers and writers have been given the “jump start” that they needed for their careers. I think that many countries would like to have such national interest in their Eurovision Choice on home territory that takes the show around the nation. I have to admit – for my sins – that I spent the 6 Saturday evenings – watching the web cast and was entertained with the pomp, ceremony, entertainment and of course Schlager. 

Author/Website Co-Founder and Editor in Chief Garrett Mulhall

Source SVT/ESC/Melfest

Tell Us What You Think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s