Eurovision 2020

#TOP10 – Top 10 Fun Facts for Eurovision 2021!

Having a party on Zoom tonight for the final of the Eurovision Song Contest? Want to make your guests think you’re a Mastermind of the Contest? Before you give out your 12 points tonight, take a look at our Top 10 Trivia pieces for the Eurovision 2021 so you can impress your family and friends!

1 – Tonight is the first Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest since 2014 that won’t see Australia on stage. Australia were invited to take part at the contest to celebrate Eurovision’s 60th birthday in 2015 and have become a regular fixture, though this year was the first time they’ve failed to qualify from the semi finals.

2 – The number of years its been since our last Eurovision final! I know, the horror! The last time Europe sat down around its television sets to watch the contest was in 2019… meaning Duncan Laurence has technically held the title of Winner of the Eurovision Song Contest longer than anyone else in history!

3 – Eurovision 2021 marks the 3rd time that the Eurovision family’s smallest member San Marino has made it to the Grand Final! San Marino made it to their first final in 2014, and then again in 2019. Senhit and Flo Rida also get the honour of closing the contest this year with their dance hit Adrenalina!

4 – In what’s fast becoming a Eurovision tradition, tonight’s contest will have 4 hosts. Chantal Janzen, Edsilia Rombley, Jan Smit and Nikkie de Jager will be overseeing things this evening and four hosts have also looked after the Eurovision Song Contest in 2015, 2018 and 2019

5 – Duncan Laurence’s win in Tel Aviv brought the Netherlands their 5th Eurovision Song Contest win. This is an accolade they share with France, the United Kingdom and Luxembourg, who all also have 5 Eurovision titles to their names.

6 – The maximum number of people allowed on stage at Eurovision is 6. A few countries this year (like Sweden and Ukraine) have opted for graphics to make the stage look busier than it is and thanks to a change in the rules this year, vocals are permitted on the backing tracks too – so it might sound like there are more of them, but there are never more than 6 on stage!

7 – A total of 7 countries didn’t qualify from Thursday’s Second Semi Final. Denmark, Latvia, Georgia, Poland, Austria, Czech Republic and Estonia are all missing out on tonight’s festivities, but will still get to vote for the winner. A further 6 countries (Australia, Croatia, Ireland, North Macedonia, Slovenia and Romania) failed to qualify from the final from Tuesday’s First Semi Final.

8 – Out of tonight’s 26 finalists, 8 of them have never won the Eurovision Song Contest before – the other 18 countries all have at least one win to their name already. Victory tonight for Albania, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Iceland, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova or San Marino would go down in history!

9 – Eurovision is often a multi-lingual affair and tonight songs will be performed in 9 languages. These are Albanian, English, French, Italian, Russian, Serbian, Spanish, Ukrainian and Sranan Tongo, the language spoken in Suriname where Dutch representative Jeangu Macrooy was born.

10 – The 10 years at Eurovision have been busy ones! We’ve had only 9 contests (thanks a lot COVID!), but had two new countries win (Azerbaijan and Portugal), two wins for Sweden and the most recent wins in decades for both Austria and the Netherlands!

Wherever you are in the world tonight, all of us here at Eurovision Ireland hope that you enjoy the Eurovision Song Contest 2021! Have fun!

Author: James Scanlan
Source: Eurovision Ireland

Tell Us What You Think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s