The Eurovision Song Contest has been awarded one of Europe’s most coveted media awards, the ‘Médaille Charlemagne pour les Médias Européens‘ (Karl Medal for European Media).

The Karl Medal is awarded annually by the Association Médaille Charlemagne pour les Médias Européens and considers many media contributions from TV & radio across the European continent looking to award programming that highlights integration and identity formation in Europe.

The award has been given since 2000 and is decided upon by the member organisations which include Filmstiftung NRW, TV5 Monde, BBC World & Eurosport. Previous winner have included writer Cees Nooteboom, the organisations ‘Reporters Without Borders’ and ‘European Film Agency and last year Bosnian Dunja Mijatovic a radio communications director who is the current holder of the European ‘Freedom in Media’ position since 2010.

bjornThe official award ceremony will take place on April 28th in the German town on Aachen, perched on the three way border of Germany, Belgium and The Netherlands. Guest of honour who will speak about Eurovision is non other than Bjorn Ulvaeus from Eurovision’s most successful group Abba. German winner of the 1982 contest Nicole has also confirmed that she will be attending, it’s expected that many other stars of Eurovision will also be present on the night.

Michael Kayser, chairman of the ‘Médaille Charlemagne’ said that he fully supported the award for the Eurovision Song Contest “Of course we should distinguish the Eurovision Song Contest for this award; it is the most popular cultural event in Europe, it brings together more than just the EU countries and it also integrates countries that, although not geographically in Europe, identify with the continent: Israel, Azerbaijan, Armenia and Georgia for example. Because of its official abstinence from politics the Eurovision Song Contest allows dialogues across all countries.”

Congratulation Eurovision Song Contest and EBU, on this well deserved award from all of us here at Eurovision Ireland.

Author: Lisa-Jayne Lewis
Source: Eurovision.de


Tell Us What You Think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s