Eurovision 2020

#JESC20: Remembering Bucharest 2006

The 2006 Junior Eurovision Song Contest took place on Saturday 2nd December. The event was hosted at Sala Polivalentă by Andreea Marin Banica and Ioana Ivan. The top 3 were:

1st: Russia – 154 points

Video: YouTube/EBU

2nd: Belarus – 129 points

Video: YouTube/EBU

3rd: Sweden – 116 points

Video: YouTube/EBU

There were three debutants at the fourth Junior Eurovision Song Contest – these were Portugal, Serbia and Ukraine, while Cyprus returned. Denmark, Latvia, Norway, Serbia & Montenegro and the United Kingdom all withdrew from the Contest. This took the number of participating countries to fifteen.

So who was awarded the famous 12 points? Seven sets of twelve points were awarded to Russia; three sets to Belarus; with one set going to Croatia, Cyprus, Greece, Romania and Sweden. A further set of 12 points was awarded to every country by the EBU, to avoid all countries finishing with no points.

Author: Richard Taylor

Source: Eurovision Ireland

Tell Us What You Think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s